top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Johnson

Pride in Ecuador

Historical year for Ecuador passing same sex marriage while I'm here!



With all the world politics, progress and lack there of, it is nice seeing some countries continue to make small steps for human rights, so I thought this deserved a separate post! During my first few weeks here in Ecuador, history was already being made with the passing of same sex marriage. Ecuador being a very religious country, this was a huge deal that also caused some uproar, however the ruling stuck. In order to celebrate the win, I attended the Pride (Orgullo) parade in downtown Quito. Our PC Ecuador group has a group called SpeQtrum that is a support group for LGBTQ+ volunteers, and although allies are welcome as well. Identifying as as an ally myself I joined the SpeQtrum group to parade the streets of Quito celebrating freedom of same-sex marriage, we are all human and LOVE IS LOVE!








Disclaimer: “The content of this website is mine alone and does not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Government, the Peace Corps, or the Ecuadorian Government.”

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page