top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Johnson

I'm moving to the Amazon!

From Tongass National Rainforest to the Amazon Rainforest, I'll be moving in a week!

Moving to Provice of Napo in between towns of Puyo and Tena

And finally, the moment of truth revealed itself on Friday July 26th! The moment we were all waiting for: site reveal! After 8 months of training and wondering what region (Coast,Sierra, or Oriente) we would be living for the next two years of our lives, I found out that I am going to the Oriente (rainforest). Our director kept telling us to have "broad expectations" so that we weren't disappointed with our site placement, because we had zero input as to where we would go.


In order to place us, our project managers worked with our soon-to-be "counterparts," (essentially people in the community we will be working with on implementing our community projects) to see who had the skill set that they needed. We are here for the needs of our community, thus they place us where we are most needed. And for me that is a small town of less that 1,000 habitants outside the town of Tena in the Province of Napo. About half of my community is indigenous (Kichwa) as well, so maybe I'll learn to speak some Kichwa in addition to my Spanish! I thought I was getting away from the rain for awhile when I left the Tongass Rainforest in Juneau, AK, but apparently two years living in rain central wasn't enough, now I just need my Xtra Tuff boots and I'll be set.


Moving to Oriente Province of Napo

I was definitely not truly expecting such a small community, but am actually really excited to be able to get to know everyone closely and be able to see the impact of the work I'll be doing much more. Additionally, I'm 30 minutes away from the tourist adventure town of Tena and another adventure town called Puyo, which is the capital of the Oriente.


So what exactly will I be doing in my little community?


The first three months in site we are to do a Community Assessment Tool (CAT) in order to assess the community's needs, etc. However, my counterpart who lives in the town specifically noted that the community would like education on basic health, nutrition and hygiene. Additionally, the request help in physical health needs, sexual education in the schools, and assistance with persons with disabilities. Given these variety of needs, I will assess the community and the resources and will hope to promote healthy lifestyles in my community! Included in my town are two other PCVs who are members of the Youth and Family Program as well as TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language), so hopefully we can collaborate on some activities!


When do I start?


Next week on August 6th I will officially "swear in" as a Peace Corps Volunteer instead of Trainee, and that day I will take a bus with the others going to the Oriente. There we will have a day of training with our counterparts and then I'll meet my new family! Apparently my new family is a single mom with two sons. Hoping they are as amazing as my current host family! And to be determined how connected I will be with internet, so cross your fingers for wifi people! Otherwise, I just loaded up on some books to read during my down time in my quaint new town!








Disclaimer: “The content of this website is mine alone and does not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Government, the Peace Corps, or the Ecuadorian Government.”

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page